Popcorn Group

NFTS Popcorn Award

Following on from the success of the Popcorn Writing Award in conjunction with the Edinburgh Fringe, the NFTS Popcorn Award has been set up dedicated to film and television, to champion stories with strong identities which look to shape the conversation around social and political issues in a thought-provoking way.

View award


The Popcorn Writing Award is the only award celebrating new writing at the Edinburgh Fringe.

It champions brave and imaginative writing which playfully and artistically questions and addresses current affairs and societal trends and contributes positively to public debate.

Partnering venues include Assembly Festival, Gilded Balloon, Pleasance, Summerhall, Traverse Theatre, Underbelly, Greenside Venues, ZOO Venues and theSpaceUK.

Past Committee members have included: Lena Headey, Wunmi Mosaku, Ruth Wilson, Gonzalo Maza, Michael Longhurst and many others from across film, television, theatre and beyond.


All plays submitted will be considered provided they are:

1) A new piece of writing which has not had a significant run before the 2024 Edinburgh Fringe. We are deeming a significant run as no more than 7 performances or a play that was shown online.

2) A play that is being shown at one of the partnering venues: Assembly Festival, Gilded Balloon, Pleasance, Summerhall (including Roundabout), Traverse Theatre, Underbelly, Greenside Venues, ZOO Venues and theSpaceUK.

Please send your piece of new writing, a 10-15 word tagline, and a 50 word summary of your play to your respective venue with “Popcorn Writing Award 2024 // Title of Play // Writer’s Name // Venue Associated” in the subject heading

If you have questions, please get in touch with awards@popcorngroup.co.uk.

For more information, see our Award Info PDF here.

View award